EVEN IF I FALL

EVEN IF I FALL

Brooke and Heath should never have become friends, let alone fallen in love

Don’t miss this deeply emotional, romantic and layered novel from Abigail Johnson, whose stories have been described as “smart,” “heartfelt,” “genuine” and “complex,” featuring a boy and girl who should never have become friends, let alone fallen in love. Perfect for fans of Kasie West, Morgan Matson, and Sarah Dessen.

A year ago, Brooke Covington lost everything when her beloved older brother, Jason, confessed to the murder of his best friend, Calvin. Brooke and her family became social pariahs, broken and unable to console one another. Brooke’s only solace remains the ice-skating rink, where she works but no longer lets herself dream about a future skating professionally.

When Brooke encounters Calvin’s younger brother, Heath, on the side of the road and offers him a ride, everything changes. She needs someone to talk to…and so does Heath. No one else understands what it’s like. Her brother, alive but gone; his brother, dead but everywhere. Soon, they’re meeting in secret, despite knowing that both families would be horrified if they found out. In the place of his anger and her guilt, something frighteningly tender begins to develop, drawing them ever closer together.

But when a new secret comes out about the murder, Brooke has to choose whose pain she’s willing to live with—her family’s or Heath’s. Because she can’t heal one without hurting the other.

Reviews

“Johnson spins a tale of broken people and stirring complexity… Emotional page-turner.” –Kirkus Reviews

“Johnson brings to life a family in distress along with a tantalizing mystery…Captivating and emotional, this story creates a beautiful tapestry of secrets and lies and explores how a family goes on when the unthinkable is a coldhearted reality….a real page-turner.” –Booklist

“An emotional character piece that’s hard to put down.” –Hypable

“A moving, captivating story about the bonds of family and the restorative power of love.” — Tamara Ireland StoneNew York Times bestselling author of Little Do We Know

“Abigail Johnson deftly weaves together emotional and romantic turmoil into an unforgettable read about loss, dreams, and redemption.” — Jeff Zentner, William C. Morris award-winning author of The Serpent King

Even If I Fall is a twisty tale about the complexity of family, love, and friendship. Told with truth and heart, it’s impossible to put down…or get the characters out of your head.” — Elizabeth Eulberg, author of Better Off Friends

“A thoughtful novel about loving someone, even in the face of their faults.” — Mindy McGinnis, author of The Female of the Species

Details

Genre: Contemporary Young Adult
Age Range: 14 and up
Publisher: Inkyard Press
Release Date: January 8, 2019
Formats: Hardcover, eBook
Categories: Young Adult Social Themes, Young Adult Romance, Young Adult Coming of Age, Young Adult Family
Language: English
Translations: German, Russian

Format: Hardcover
Retail Price: $18.99 (USD)
ISBN-13: 9781335541550
Pages: 384

Format: eBook
Retail Price: $9.99 (USD)
ISBN-13: 9781488038839
Pages: 384

Quotes

MORE BOOKS YOU MAY LIKE

“A nuanced take on learning to fix yourself rather than fixing others.”
— Kirkus Reviews on IF I FIX YOU

“Johnson brings to life a family in distress along with a tantalizing mystery…Captivating and emotional, this story creates a beautiful tapestry of secrets and lies and explores how a family goes on when the unthinkable is a coldhearted reality….a real page-turner.”
Booklist on EVEN IF I FALL

“Heartfelt and soul-probing, this is a book that will leave readers with a heady book hangover- that is so very worth it.”
YA Books Central on EVERY OTHER WEEKEND

“Beautifully told, this heartbreaking story about family betrayals and secrets will have readers easily caught up in this tale… the ending is simply perfect.”
– RT Book Reviews on THE FIRST TO KNOW

“Fast and intense, this is a galloping thriller with something extra for romantics.”
—Kirkus Reviews on GIRL ON THE RUN

Share This Book!